Join our brightest minds hero banner Join our brightest minds hero banner

Our history

The University was formed in 2004 by the merger of the Victoria University of Manchester and the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology – institutions which both had their origins in the mid-19th century.

During our history 25 Nobel laureates have studied or worked here. In fact, there are two on our current staff: Professors Andre Geim and Kostya Novoselov (joint winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics).

Manchester has a rich history of ground-breaking research, from the splitting of the atom by Ernest Rutherford in 1917 to the isolation of graphene’s properties by Geim and Novoselov in 2004.

Other pioneering discoveries include the work of Tom Kilburn, Freddie Williams and Alan Turing on the modern computer – the first stored program was run at Manchester – and the development of modern economics by trailblazers such as John Richard Hicks and William Arthur Lewis. The latter, on his appointment at Manchester, was Britain’s first black professor.

Manchester University History Sidebar Image